@LeighDay_Law @CaricomNews nations unanimously approve 10 point plan for #slavery #reparations

Read full article here.  Below I provide some background information, a post regarding the 10-Point Plan soon to follow.

“A meeting of CARICOM nations in St Vincent has approved unanimously a ten-point plan proposed by the Caricom Reparations Commission to achieve reparatory justice for the victims of genocide, slavery, slave trading, and racial apartheid.”

Sir Hilary Beckles, the Chairman of the Caricom Reparations Commission, said:
“I am very pleased that the conference has adopted the Plan. Reparations for the slave era is an issue that has resonated increasingly in recent years.
Martyn Day, from law firm Leigh Day and who is advising the commission said:
“This is a very comprehensive and fair set of demands on the Governments whose countries grew rich at the expense of those regions whose human wealth was stolen from them.”A Conference in London between representatives of CARICOM and the slave nations, to include the Governments of Holland, UK, France as well as potentially other nations who profited from the slave trade, will enable our clients to quickly gauge whether or not their concerns are being taken seriously.”

What is CARICOM?
The establishment of the Caribbean Community and Common Market (CARICOM) was the result of a 15-year effort to fulfil the hope of regional integration which was born with the establishment of the British West Indies Federation in 1958. The West Indies Federation came to an end in 1962 but its end, may be regarded as the real beginning of what is now the Caribbean Community. With the end of the Federation, political leaders in the Caribbean made more serious efforts to strengthen the ties between the islands and mainland by providing for the continuance and strengthening of the areas of cooperation that existed during the Federation. Further, Jamaica and Trinidad and Tobago both attained independence in August that year and with it the power to control their own domestic and external affairs. In announcing its intention to withdraw from the Federation, the Government of Trinidad and Tobago proposed the creation of a Caribbean Community, consisting not only of the 10 members of the Federation, but also of the three Guianas and all the islands of the Caribbean Sea – both independent and non-independent. Read more here.
Quick Timeline
  • First Heads of Government Conference in July 1963 –  build agenda that acknowledges the need for close cooperation with Europe, Africa and Latin America.
  • Establishment of a Free Trade Area in the Caribbean in July 1965, signed December 1965.
  • The new CARIFTA agreement came into effect on May 1968 – adding Antigua, Barbados, Trinidad and Tobago, Guyana, Dominica, Grenada, St. Kitts/Nevis/Anguilla, Saint Lucia and St. Vincent, Jamaica, Montserrat, and British Honduras (Belize) became a member in May 1971.
  •  Seventh Heads of Government Conference in October 1972 – Caribbean Leaders decided to transform CARIFTA into a Common Market and establish the Caribbean Community of which the Common Market
  • Eighth Heads of Government Conference of CARIFTA held in April 1973 in Georgetown, Guyana the decision to establish the Caribbean Community was brought into fruition – four independent countries: Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica and Trinidad & Tobago and eight territories – Antigua, British Honduras, Dominica, Grenada, Saint Lucia, Montserrat, St. Kitts/Nevis/Anguilla and St. Vincent.
  • The Caribbean Community and Common Market (CARICOM) was established by the Treaty of Chaguaramas, which was signed by Barbados, Jamaica, Guyana and Trinidad & Tobago and came into effect on August 1, 1973. Subsequently the other eight Caribbean territories joint CARICOM. The Bahamas became the 13th Member State of the Community on July 4, 1983, but not a member of the Common Market.
  • In July 1991, the British Virgin Islands and the Turks and Caicos became Associated Members of CARICOM, followed by Anguilla in July 1999. The Cayman Islands became the fourth Associate Member of the regional grouping on 16 May 2002, and Bermuda the fifth Associate Member on 2 July 2003.
  • Haiti secured provisional membership on 4 July 1998 and on 03 July 2002 was the first French-speaking Caribbean State to become a full Member of CARICOM.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: