“Because some people are afraid of the dark…” @UrbanCusp #Ferguson

 

Because some people are afraid of the dark, Mike Brown is going to miss roll call and will instead be counted among a growing statistic. Rather than becoming a student, Mike Brown will become a case study in the American nightmare.

– See more at: http://www.urbancusp.com/2014/08/afraid-dark-black-professors-reflections-death-michael-brown/#sthash.uB1Mz5YM.dpuf

 

“In this country, American means white. Everybody else has to be hyphenated.” – Toni Morrison

 I don’t want to be Black today. I don’t feel like it. It’s too much to live in a world where your life expectancy is systematically decreased because of the color of your skin. For the past weeks since #Ferguson started, I’ve cried and prayed every night for peace. Peace in the hearts of those that oppress us, Peace for those that have lost their lives in senseless violence, and peace for those that wake up everyday and try to make it to tomorrow alive.

It’s not fair and after each prayer I lose faith in humanity.

I grow resentful as I watch the news and hear bias, sensationalize journalism tear down the work protesters are doing in Ferguson or have to deal with progressive white liberals sympathize with the fight but rationalize the use of police force for the “looting”. So I shut down. I block it all out. Now, I am alone with my thoughts and all I can say is

I’m so tired of being Black. 

It’s not fair. I know life isn’t fair, but human life should be equal. Do you get that? I am your equal. My generation will remember this, all of it.

BvSVYWKIIAAGPhB

Leave a Reply

